Translate this blog in your favourable language

Tuesday, March 27, 2012


Real Madrid the Spanish Capital team is one of the important football clubs in history of soccer in Europe and in the world. This club has an interesting history check it out!

Formation of the Club:

Student from Institución libre de enseñanza and some Oxbridge graduates introduced football to Madrid. First the students began to play football in Moncloa in a team they formed called Football Club Sky in 1897. In 1900 the club split into two clubs New Foot-Ball De Madrid and Club Espanola De Madrid. In 1902 the club split again to form Real Madrid FC.

 In 1905 Real Madrid won their first cup after defeating Athletic Bilbao in Spanish Cup Final. On January 4 1909 Adolfo Melendez signed a foundation agreement of the Spanish FA, the club became then one of the founding sides of the Spanish Football Association. King Alfonso XIII named the club Real Madrid by giving them the title Real which means Royal.

In 1929, the Spanish Football League that is now La Liga was founded, Real Madrid were on the top of the chart but the team lost the last league match against Athletic Bilbao and ended up in the second place after Barcelona. The whites won the first league title in seasons 1931-1932 and won it the following season.

SantiagoBernabeau Yeste was Real president in 1945. Bernabeau rebuilt The Santiago Bernabeau Stadium and Ciudad Deportiva after the Spanish Civil war. Bernabeau then signed popular players like Di Stefano.

You may not know this but Bernabeau was the first to make the idea of UEFA Champion League. In 1955 theidea was first purposed by  the French sports journalist and editor of L’ÉquipeGabriel Hanot, and building upon the Copa Latina (a tournament involving clubs from France, Spain, Portugal and Italy), Bernabéu met in the Ambassador Hotel in Paris with Bedrignan and Gusztáv Sebes and created an exhibition tournament of invited European teams that is now UEFA Cahmpions League. Bernabeau did this step to make Real Madrid famous not only in Spain but also in Europe. Real won the cup for five consecutive times and was awarded UEFA badge of Hounors.

The Stadium:

After moving between grounds the team moved to the “Campo de O’Donnell” in 1912, which remained its home ground for eleven years. After this period, the club moved for one year to the Campo de Ciudad Lineal, a small ground with a capacity of 8,000 spectators. After that, Real Madrid moved its home matches to Estadio Chamartínwhich was inaugurated on 17 May 1923 wi Chujim w dupe h hosted 22,500 spectators, Real Madrid celebrated its first Spanish league title. In 14 December 1947 Santiago Bernabeau decided to build a new stadium that is the Sentiago. The first match held on Bernabéu was played between Real Madrid and the Portuguese club Belenenses and won by The Whites with 3–1, the first goal being scored by Sabino Barinaga.

The Bernabéu has hosted the 1964 European Championship final, the 1982 FIFA World Cup final, the 1957, 1969 and 1980 European Cup finals and is due to host the 2010 Champions League Final. The stadium has its own Madrid Metro station along the 10 line called Santiago Bernabéu. On 14 November 2007, the Bernabéu has been upgraded to Elite Football Stadium status by UEFA.

 On 9 May 2006, the Alfredo di Stéfano Stadium was built at the City of Madrid where Real Madrid usually trains. The first match was played between Real Madrid and Stade Reims, a rematch of the 1956 European Cup final. Real Madrid won the match 6–1 with goals from Sergio Ramos, Cassano (2), Soldado (2), and Jurado. The venue is now part of the Ciudad Real Madrid, the club’s new training facilities located outside Madrid in Valdebebas. The stadium holds 5,000 people and is Real Madrid Castilla’s home ground. It is named after former Real footballer Alfredo di Stéfano.
El Clasico and Madrid Derby:
The rivalry with Barcelona projects what some regard as the political tensions felt between Castilians and Catalans. From the early days of football in Spain the two clubs were seen as representatives of the Spanish State and Catalonia, as well as the two cities themselves which have moved in different directions culturally speaking. Though Spain’s first socialist party was founded in Madrid, almost all the ideas that have shaped country’s modern history – republicanism, federalism, anarchism, syndicalism and communism – have tended to be associated with Barcelona. On the other hand, Madrid is the seat of the government and of the royal family. Especially during the Francoist era, it came to represent the fascist, conservative, centripetal forces.

During the 1950s, the rivalry was intensified further when the clubs disputed the signing of Alfredo di Stéfano, who finally played for Real Madrid . The 1960s saw the rivalry reach the European stage when they met twice at the European Cup, Real Madrid winning in 1960 and Barça winning in 1961. In 2000, the rivalry was reinforced following the controversial decision by Luís Figo to leave Barça and sign for Real Madrid. The two teams met again in the 2002 UEFA Champions League semi-final. Real Madrid, the eventual champion, won the clash dubbed by Spanish media as the Match of the Century. As the two biggest and most successful clubs in the Spanish league, the rivalry is renewed on an annual basis with both teams often challenging each other for the league championship.

The club’s nearest neighbour is Atlético Madrid, a rivalry feeling is shared between fans of both football teams. Although Atlético was originally founded by three Basque students in 1903, it was joined in 1904 by dissident members of Madrid FC. Further tensions came because initially Real supporters came from the middle class while the Atlético supporters were drawn from the working class. Today these distinctions are largely blurred. They met for the first time on 21 February 1929 in matchday three of the first League Championship at the former Chamartín. It was the first official derby of the new tournament, and Real won 2–1. The rivalry first gained international attention in 1959 during the European Cup when the two clubs met in the semi-final. Real won the first leg 2–1 at the Bernabéu while Atlético won 1–0 at the Metropolitano. The tie went to a replay and The Whites won 2–1. Atlético, however, gained some revenge when, led by former Real Madrid coach José Villalonga, it defeated The Whites in two successive Copa del Generalísimo finals in 1960 and 1961.

Between 1961 and 1989, when Real dominated La Liga, only Atlético offered it any serious challenge, winning Liga titles in 1966, 1970, 1973 and 1977. In 1965, Atlético became the first team to beat Real at the Bernabéu in eight years. Real Madrid’s record against Atlético in more recent times is very favorable.[A high point coming in the 2002–03 season, when The Whites clinched the La Liga title after draw at Atlético 0-0 at the Vicente Calderón Stadium.


Real Madrid held the Champions League nine times and 21 semi final appearance. Raul is the most player to appear in Real’s shirt he has 724 appearance since 1994 with 321 goals and the most Champions League goals with 66 goal . Sánchez holds the record for the most league goals scored in one season (38 in 1989–90). Di Stéfano’s 49 goals in 58 matches was for decades the all-time highest tally in the European Cup, until it was surpassed by Raúl in 2005. The fastest goal in the history of the club (15 seconds). The team owns the most expensive soccer player that is Cristiano Ronaldo and used to own the second most expensive player who is Zidane..
 Via help of world media.
Post a Comment

Google+ Badge